Skip to content

Fringe–To Watch or Not to Watch?

September 24, 2008

This is a review, and does not contain spoilers!

When I first heard that J.J. Abrams was producing a new show for the Fall T.V. season, I was super excited. I’m a huge fan of his other shows: Felicity, Alias, and Lost. And when the first episode started with a score by Michael Giacchino (hauntingly familiar to any Lost or Alias fan), I stayed excited. But then, the opening scene devolved into the overly graphic display of a frighteningly gross disease spreading across the passengers of an air-plane, sparked by one passenger’s injection of a mystery substance (perhaps what Suresh pumped into his arm this week on Heroes?). Creepy, gross, and disturbing! I admit that I have a rather low tolerance for grossness, but I can just close my eyes or look away for the really disturbing scenes. I don’t mind closing my eyes periodically if the show is good. On Bones for example, I immediately look down whenever they find the remains of the murder victim(s), and it doesn’t diminish my enjoyment of the show at all. However, I don’t recommend it for kids (that means you, Sofia :), or for anyone immediately before bed. O.k., so I had decided to be o.k. with the grossness, but then, in episode 2, the writers just had to throw in a creepy fast growing pregnancy. There’s nothing I hate more in Sci-Fi/ Fantasy shows than creepy supernatural pregnancies. I really did not need to see that!

I don’t love the show yet, but I have decided to stick in there for the first 6 episodes and see. The plot twists and turns throughout the pilot, combined with the charmingness of Peter (Joshua Jackson), and the entertaining craziness of Walter, keep me interested. I’m not so sure about the main character, Olivia Denham (Dunham?) played by Anna Torv. I don’t dislike her, but I don’t love the character yet. Viewers fell in love with Felicity and Sidney Bristow right away, so this is a little disappointing. However, the chemistry between the three leads is great, and I think their interplay in the lab is the best part. Also, the character of Nina Sharp (Blair Brown), who works for the Massive Dynamic corporation (Widmore anyone?) is just the right mix of threatening and mysterious, and I definitely am interested to find out her real motivation. The founder of Massive Dynamic is still a mystery, and that reveal promises to be exciting.

Final thoughts: Little symbols (such as a leaf, apple, etc.) appear before every commercial break. I have no idea what they mean, but they kind of remind me of Dharma hatch emblems. At least they’re not numbers—those numbers give me a headache.





No comments yet

Leave a Reply

