Skip to content

The Terminator

September 25, 2008
Cameron hangingIf you asked me a few weeks ago whether I was a Terminator fan, I would have given a resounding “NO”! I had never seen the movies, and I had never wanted to. I’m not a Governator fan, and I considered the Terminator movies to be mindless action films. But I was totally wrong! Last year, I heard about the new small-screen take on the franchise, Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, through Whedonesque.com (as a devoted Joss fan, it is my favorite web-site). Whedonesque mentioned it of course because Summer Glau (the much loved River Tam of Firefly) is one of the stars of the show. While I’m a fan of Summer’s work on Firefly and Serenity, I wasn’t in a hurry to watch the show when it first aired, but I read several things that mentioned she was playing a terminator and was really awesome in the role, so when I was looking for something to watch a few weeks ago, I decided to give it a try.  I’m so glad I did, because the show is AWESOME!  After a few episodes (I caught them on veoh.com for free—hurrah!), I was completely hooked.
After I watched the 9 episode season 1 (sadly cut short by the writer’s strike), I watched the first Terminator film … and I loved it! It is a beautiful love story, also featuring time travel and killer robots—a combination of my favorite things! Kyle Reese is the perfect man, and I’m completely in love with him.  Arnold’s terminator was hilarious, and the effects were surprisingly not too dated for a 1984 flick. The movie really establishes cool mythology that just begs for multiple sequels (which I’m planning to watch soon).  I’m so glad they decided to further the mythology in a television show. I will add further thoughts on the show in later posts.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

