Skip to content

Lost: “Whatever Happened, Happened”

April 6, 2009
tags:

Warning: Spoilers for the Lost episode “Whatever Happened, Happened,” aired 4/01/09!Kate.Lost

O.K., I am finally getting around to posting this.  Sorry, but I have been crazy busy.  Here is my live blog, edited with comments:

  • I loved that the episode featured another Patsy Cline song, in a Kate flashback!  I actually got into her music through this show, with the Kate flashbacks.
  • My first reaction when we learned that Ben didn’t die from THE GUNSHOT WOUND TO HIS 12-YEAR OLD CHEST, was that it is the stupidest thing EVER.  However, by the end of the episode, I came around.
  • Hurley checking to see if he’s disappearing, like in Back to the Future! Love it.  The discussion of time travel between Hurley and Miles that ensued was awesome!  Miles explained that it doesn’t work that way, etc.  Hurley: “Let me get this straight? All this already happened?  If all this already happened, why don’t I remember any of this?”  Miles explains that time is no longer a straight line!!! This (i.e. the 70s) is their present.  Hurley stumps Miles by asking why Ben didn’t remember Sayiid then. This is a particularly funny question because it is one that has been debated among the fans. For a couple seconds I felt that I totally understood it, then my brain started hurting. Time travel=ouch.  However, after watching the rest of the episode, and taking time to digest it, and listening to the Official Lost Podcast (see how much work this show is), I think that I know what’s what.  Really, the whole theory of time travel that is being used in the show is exactly as the title indicates: “Whatever happened, happened.”  Repeat it to yourself to soothe your confusion.  Time is not necessarily linear, but it is also without paradoxes.  You can’t change the future by trying to kill Ben in the past, because he won’t die, because he’s already alive in the future.  So the Losties’ past is Ben’s future, but Ben’s past is the Losties’ future.  However, the Losties are in their own future in the 70s, so they can be killed.  Get it?  Vitamin I anyone? 
  • Jack says NO to helping Ben.  While his reasons were hard to argue with, as a doctor and hero I expected more.  Jack points out that we’ve been here before–he already saved Ben’s life at Kate’s urging. “It’s happened before, it will happen again.” Oh wait, this isn’t BSG.  Oh, now I’m sad that BSG is over.  Depressing.  Back to Lost, Jack has gone all Lockean, and says that maybe the island wants to fix things itself.  Kate thinks that Jack has changed, and she doesn’t like the new Jack.  In the zinger of the episode, and perhaps my favorite Jack line ever, Jack replies: “You didn’t like the old me Kate.”  She has no comeback for that one, so she stomps out. Lets hope that she doesn’t burn the house down.  Hey, she’s done it before.
  • Kate goes to give blood for Ben. She also manages to tell Juliet that she and Jack were engaged.  If I could believe that Kate had any real feelings for Jack or Sawyer I would care more about this conversation, but I don’t and I didn’t.
  • Roger Linus: “La Fleur asked me where my keys were. That bastard doesn’t ask any questions that he doesn’t know the answer to.”  Great line.  Ben’s jerk of a dad actually managed to win some sympathy in these scenes, which I would not have thought possible.
  • In a surprising turn of events, Juliet lets Kate leave with Ben to get to the Others.  Sawyer joins in too: “Dammit Freckles, I ain’t here to stop you. I’m here to help you.”
  • Cassiday: “Well Jack sounds like a piece of work.” Isn’t that the truth.  I have to admit that Cassiday said everything I was thinking!!!  Except for the Sawyer broke Kate’s heart part–I just don’t find it believable.
  • “No matter what he’s gonna grow up to be, it’s wrong to let a kid die.”  Agree?  Disagree?
  • Jack says that he came back because he was supposed to, he just doesn’t know what he ‘s supposed to do yet.  Wow, he has really imbibed the Lockean kool-aid.
  • Kate and Sawyer have a heart-to-heart.  Sawyer basically admits that Clementine’s theory was right. He wasn’t ready then, but he’s done a lot of growing up since then.  Thoughts?
  • Back in L.A., we finally learn what happened with Aaron.  Kate actually did the right thing!!! She tells Aaron’s grandma the truth. It sounds even crazier when Kate says it, but amazingly Claire’s mama believes her. Kate says that she knew that Claire wanted Aaron to be adopted!!!?!!!!!?!!!!?!!!!?!!!  Hello?  Only way before he was born!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Shut up Kate. Kate’s going back to find Claire. OMG, I can’t wait for a Claire-Aaron reunion.  Kate cries as she leaves Aaron.  Proof that she does have a heart, regardless of her treatment of the other men in her life.  Evangeline Lilly was amazing in this episode–she has really grown as an actress!
  • Richard says that if he takes Ben, he’ll forget that this ever happened, and his innocence will be gone.  Hmmm.  So does that mean that the Others are bad?  Does this support the Island as the Garden of Eden theory?  A little background chatter about Whidmore and Ellie, so they’re still around.  What are they up to? Richard says that he doesn’t answer to them. No one is surprised by this as Richard is frakin’ immortal or something.
  • Ben in the present wakes up to see Locke staring at him. It is not a comforting sight.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

