Skip to content

Gossip Girl: “Southern Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”

April 28, 2009

Blair big hatWarning: Spoilers for the latest Gossip Girl episode, aired 4/27/09!

I enjoyed this episode, but it didn’t wow me.  Maybe I was expecting too much from the title (see above).  You know it’s so hard for “a girl like I,” especially when she loves Gentlemen Prefer Blondes “like I.”  Hee.  Anyways, back to the show: it was so so but there were some great moments, mostly consisting of Blair’s gorgeous outfits (Serena, on the other hand was having some bad fashion moments).  Here are the highlights (according to me):

  • “Dorota is great with surveillance equipment.”  I bet she is.  That was the first reference to Dorota, but it wasn’t the last.  Sadly, my favorite Polish maid did not make an actual appearance in the episode.  Was she off with her new doorman boyfriend perhaps?  Spying on Ann Coulter?  She does like to know her enemy …
  • Blair can’t help herself–even after she says she will let the spying thing go, we cut to her outside the hotel wearing a beret.  A beret!  Of course she was.  And of course she ran into Chuck …
  • Blair mentioned Guam!!!  That’s the second time prime-time television has mentioned my island birth-place.  Oh, and there was a bridal shop owner named Lucia on Bones a couple weeks ago!  See, it’s really all about ME ME ME!
  • Gabriel, or as Blair refers to him, “the North Caro-liar,” sucks.
  • Blair and Chuck in cahoots!  Fun.
  • Blair: “Nate, what are you doing here? I thought there was a Mets game.  I saw Dorota wearing her hat.”  Yay!  More information about the elusive Dorota!  Again though, wish she was actually IN the episode.
  • Nate is dumb and annoying.
  • Agh!  Stupid Rufus.  I can’t believe he gave a check to that con man.
  • “I can’t believe that I have to see my sworn enemy with Nancy Pelosi hair.”  Oh Blair, you never disappoint.
  • Cultist Georgina is super-scary.

Next week promises to be lots of fun.  However, I hope the whole thing isn’t about the gang chasing after Poppy and the North Caro-Liar.  You know you love me. xoxo, Gossip Girl.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

