Skip to content

Summer Glau to appear in Dollhouse? | Ausiello Files | EW.com

May 27, 2009

Summer purple jacketIn this week’s Ask Ausiello, the first question deals with my favorite television mystery:  What will Summer Glau do next? I’ve included the juicy bit below, with a link to the rest of the entry.  Enjoy!

Question: With Sarah Connor Chronicles canceled, please tell me there is a possibility of Summer Glau making an appearance on Dollhouse! –Jenn
Ausiello: The noise you’re about to hear is the sound of the Whedonverse exploding. Joss confirms to me exclusively that, well, he’s one step head of you. "If anybody thinks [bringing Summer onto Dollhouse] hasn’t occurred to me already then they have not met me," he says. "I mentioned it to her before [SCC] was canceled. I was like, ‘You know, we should get you in the ‘house.’ But first we have to come up with something that works." And casting her as a doll would not work, insists Whedon. "Summer would be perfect to play an active, but she’s done that [type of role] a lot," he says. "I’d rather see her play someone who talks too much. The most fun I have is when I get somebody who’s good and comfortable at doing something, and then I make them do something else. Summer said to me, ‘I would like to play a normal girl before I die of extreme old age.’" Got any ideas? Head to the comments section!

Ask Ausiello: Spoilers on ‘Dollhouse,’ ‘Burn Notice,’ ‘True Blood,’ ‘Lost,’ ‘Eureka,’ ‘Bones,’ and more! | Ask Ausiello, Bones, Dexter, Dollhouse, Glee, Lost, Melrose Place, News, Nip/Tuck, Samantha Who?, Sarah Connor Chronicles, True Blood | Ausiello Files | EW.com

Joss gives an interesting answer … I hope it works out.  We all know Summer would play the perfect doll, but leave it to Joss to push the envelope.  I love Summer’s quote: "I would love to play a normal girl before I die of extreme old age."  But I don’t know … who wants normal?  Are there any "normal girls" on Dollhouse? I want her to play a ninja assassin, ballerina, and a vampire slayer.  Hee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

