Skip to content

Drive

July 9, 2009

Nathan Drive          I recently watched the 6 episodes that constitute the only season of DriveDrive was a television drama that aired on Fox in Spring 2007.  Why did I buy all 6 episodes for $7.99 on iTunes?  Why am I writing about it now, after all this time?  1. Tim Minear (Firefly, Angel, & Dollhouse) was the creator and show-runner. 2. Nathan Fillion starred in it.  Enough said.  3.  Amy Acker played his wife.  She doesn’t have much screen time, but she is still awesome. Plus, Amy and Nathan playing a married couple?  Priceless.  4.  It’s really entertaining!  When the show was actually on television, it was canceled before I ever even knew about it.  Back then I didn’t watch anything on Fox (pre-TSCC and Dollhouse), and I just didn’t hear the buzz until it was too late.  Once I did hear about it, the premise didn’t seem like my cup of tea.  On principle, I am against any kind of automobile racing in my t.v. and movies (unless it takes place in Grease of course).   It’s usually cheesy, overly macho, and contrived (Grease is purposefully those things;D).  Turns out, when Nathan Fillion is doing the driving, and he has to win the race to save the beautiful Amy Acker, racing is awesome.  Add a dark and tortured past to Fillion’s character, that is slowly revealed: even awesomer.  I really enjoyed the 6 eps, and I devoured them VERY quickly.  Chances are, you haven’t seen it, so I don’t want to give too much away.  Warning, there is no closure, and it ends with a cliffhanger that will probably never get answered.  Don’t start watching if you can’t handle that.  (Frak Fox!)  Anyways, here is the link to purchase Drive on iTunes.  Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

