Skip to content

‘A Game of Thrones’ is coming to HBO, with a fabulous cast

August 4, 2009

sean_bean

Jennifer Ehle (Elizabeth Bennet from the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice) has been cast as Catelyn Stark in the new HBO show A Game of Thrones.  And that’s not all.  Sean Bean (one of the handsome princes of Gondor, Boromir, in The Lord of the Rings) has been cast as Ned Stark.  This is especially exciting because this series is based on a book series by George R.R. Martin, which I have been assured is amazing.  I bought the first book, but haven’t started it yet.  I better get on that.  I will be flying all day tomorrow, so I should make some progress.

Jennifer Ehle cast as Catelyn Stark in HBO’s A Game of Thrones

Sean Bean in George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones on Amazon

A Game of Thrones

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Francesca permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:43 am

    oh, this should be exciting, i wondered why lizzie was never in anything else.

  2. heroine_tv permalink
    August 4, 2009 10:37 am

    Yeah, maybe she was doing plays and things? I will have to investigate. Once I’ve read the first book, I’ll provide a little summary, so people can have an idea as to what the story is about.

    • Nelva permalink
      September 2, 2009 9:12 am

      I’ve read all the books that are available so far and was SUPER excited to hear HBO was picking it up. It is a very intense, violent, sexual and thrilling book to read. My husband got me into them and now I am anxiously awaiting the next book. I hope the tv show lives up to the book otherwise I will be super disappointed. So far I do like Jennifer & Sean being casted for Catelyn & Ned Stark. Not thrilled about Nikolaj Coster-Waldau being casted for Jamie Lanister’s part. This dude is too old and totally NOT what I envisioned Jamie looking like. He’s good looking and Nikolaj is, well too old and not that attractive. Oh well, maybe he’ll be soo good the way he portrays Jamie I’ll get over his looks.

      • heroine_tv permalink
        September 2, 2009 10:17 am

        Now that we know Lena Heady has been cast as Cersei, the Nikolaj casting looks better–since they have to be somewhat believable as twins. They don’t really look alike, but they seem about the same age. Lena doesn’t have the Cersei coloring, but she’s gorgeous and amazingly talented, and I think she’ll pull it off more than well. I wonder how blonde they’ll make Lena. I guess we will just have to wait and see …
        https://heroinetv.wordpress.com/2009/09/01/a-game-of-thrones-casting-news-lena-heady-is-cersei-lannister/

  3. Ennio Giusti permalink
    August 4, 2009 6:45 pm

    O M G that is so awesome! You need to read it soon Cia, I’m almost done with the third book and it is nothing short of amazing.

  4. heroine_tv permalink
    August 4, 2009 8:17 pm

    I am starting it tomorrow for sure! My shuttle comes at 3:15 am, and I will be flying/ waiting in airports all day, so I will finally make time for the book.

  5. heroine_tv permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:42 am

    I’m loving this book! It’s taking me forever though, because there are so many distractions.

  6. heroine_tv permalink
    August 20, 2009 5:03 pm

    Latest reading update: I’m on page 286, and it is awesome. People were right who said that Martin likes to torture his characters. I get watery eyes at the end of each chapter. Love it!

  7. September 1, 2009 11:46 am

    I am backflipping with excitement. Fact.

  8. heroine_tv permalink
    September 1, 2009 11:52 am

    I only have 100 pages to go to finish ‘A Game of Thrones,’ & I’m going slow on purpose because I think I know where things are headed for Eddard Stark. I’m happy in denial for now. This book is QUALITY, and I have the sequels in my Amazon cart now.

Leave a Reply

