Skip to content

‘Glee’ Pilot – Director’s Cut: Video & My Thoughts

September 3, 2009

If you have not yet caught the Glee pilot, I have posted the video below:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “Glee: Pilot – Director’s Cut“, posted with vodpod. Just double click on the video to watch a bigger version.

For the rest of you, here is my take on the pilot:

  • I’m looking forward to seeing more from the cheerleaders, or “Cheerios,” as they are referred to. Also, I want to see more of the cheerleading coach, Sue, played by the amazing & fabulous Jane Lynch. Coach Sue: “You think this is hard? Try being water-boarded—that’s hard.”  I love listening to her yell at people.
  • The main character, the young & rather cute teacher Will Shuester (played by Matthew Morrison), is likeable enough.  However, I feel more like I’m supposed to like him, rather than I’m actually liking him.  You know what I mean?
  • I loved Stephen Toblowsky in his role as the former Glee teacher.  If he looks really familiar to you, but you can’t place him, he played Elle’s father in Heroes—the one who had the Midas-touch (along with a myriad of other roles).  Favorite quote: “My long-distance girlfriend in Cleveland almost broke up with me.” Also, loved that he has turned to medical marijuana to deal with his firing, and has become a drug dealer.
  • I rather enjoyed the scenes in the teacher’s lounge, and I think I may enjoy the antics of the adults more than those of the kids.  We’ll see.  Jane Lynch bringing in the lattes was hilarious.
  • Sue’s nemesis as a young cutesy red-headed teacher, wearing yellow plastic pearls, and putting on plastic gloves on to eat?  Priceless.  Also, the actress who plays Emma Pillsbury is another Heroes connection—Jayma Mays played Charlie the waitress!  However, Mays opens her eyes so wide that she freaks me out, which is probably the reaction they were going for.
  • I don’t really understand why Will wants to take over Glee club. I sort of do, but not really.
  • I loved the variety and selection of the songs: “R-E-S-P-E-C-T,” “Mr. Cellophane,” “I Kissed a Girl,” “On My Own,” “Can’t Fight This Feeling” by REO Speedwagon, “You’re the One That I Want” from Grease, “Don’t Stop Believin’ by Journey, etc.  You can find all the music from the pilot here.
  • I kind of love Rachel Berry (played by Lea Michele), but I worry that she may become too over the top and start to grate.  Some of her best lines: “I am not homophobic. In fact, I have two gay dads.” “My MySpace schedule keeps me way too busy to date.” “We suck.”  “There’s nothing ironic about show choir.”
  • I love to watch Jane Lynch yell at people (just had to repeat that sentiment … not so sure what that says about me …).
  • There’s also another Heroes actor—Jessalyn Gilsig who played Claire’s biological mom. Gilsig also guest-starred as Tammy’s sister on Friday Night Lights, so yay! She plays Terri Shuester, the teacher’s wife.
  • Supposedly sweet Will teacher is totally capable of being evil and devious. He’s a lying liar who lies. Poor quarterback kid.
  • I liked Emma’s insight regarding Will’s fatherhood and job prospects. “But provide what exactly?… Or the idea that the only life worth living is the one that you’re really passionate about?”  So true.

Glee cast photo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara8 permalink
    September 4, 2009 11:08 am

    You know, when you break it down, I kind of agree with a lot of what you said, I definitely hear you on the main guy. We are supposed to like him. And well I do. But I really love the main girl, mainly because (can you tell it takes me a while to catch on to names?) I LOVE her voice. The music just makes me happy. It will be interesting to see more episodes and see if the ‘love’ that I felt from the moment I watched it way back when, or if some of the things I love will start to grate. You can never go wrong with Jane Lynch. She is perfection in everything she’s in. I’m happy to see her in this, but sad that it will take her away from Party Down, where apparently she is to be replaced by Megan Mullaly (sp). I loved Jessalyn Gilsig, of Nip/Tuck fame, who plays bitchy so well. All in all I found it one of the best pilots I’ve seen in a while. Whether it lives up to that, we shall see. Next week two more premieres and then things are really going to get busy!!!!

  2. heroine_tv permalink
    September 4, 2009 12:15 pm

    Thanks for commenting. I love Jessalyn Gilsig too, though I never saw Nip/Tuck. I agree that it was one of the better pilots, and it always takes a few episodes to really get into a show, for me, so I’m sure I’ll start loving it. I loved all the singing and the cast has great voices. I’m the same way about the names–I had to look people up on imdb to figure out their characters’ names.

Leave a Reply

